About Us

About Organizer of Host Country: JSSTS

The Japanese Society for Science and Technology Studies (JSSTS) was established in 2001 with the aim of providing a forum for genuine cross-disciplinary, critical, and constructive academic study of questions related to science, technology, and society.

It is characteristic of the Japanese STS society that many philosophers and ethicists, as well as sociologists, psychologists, engineers, and natural scientists, are enrolled. Collaboration with empirical disciplines is particularly relevant to Philosophy of technology, especially after the "empirical turn" and the "axiological turn.”

Organizing Committee

SPT Board Subcommittee

  • Inmaculada de Melo-Martín (SPT President)

  • Sabine Ammon (SPT Board Member)

  • Glen Miller (SPT Secretary)

  • Richard Lewis (SPT Treasurer)

  • Robert Rosenberg (SPT President-Elect)

Host Country

  • Kiyotaka Naoe (Chair, JSSTS Board Member)

  • Hidekazu Kanemitsu

  • Toshihiro Suzuki

  • Tetsuya Kono

  • Yu Inutsuka

  • Kazue Haga

  • Tomoki Nanasawa

  • Kenichi Natsume (JSSTS Board Member)

  • Atsushi Fujiki

Scientific Committee

  • Minao Kukita

  • Shigeru Wesugi

  • Tsuyoshi Teramoto

  • Takao Koga

  • Shinya Oie

  • Mariko Nihei

  • Haruka Tsutsui

  • Haruka Maeda

  • Takuya Mizukami

  • Tomohiro Inokuchi

  • Takashi Kitano